Expert Member of the ICG/IOTWMS, Intersessional Task Team on "Capacity Assessment of Tsunami Preparedness

September 2017

Prof. Dilanthi Amaratunga has bene appointed as an expert member of the "The IOC-UNESCO, (Intergovernmental Coordination Group) for the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/IOTWMS), Intersessional Task Team on "Capacity Assessment of Tsunami Preparedness" at their recently held meeting at Indonesian Agency for Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysics (BMKG) Jakarta, Indonesia.

ICG/IOTWMS inter-sessional Task Team on "Capacity Assessment of Tsunami Preparedness" has the following ToR:

- Review existing questionnaires and national reports, develop suitable questionnaire, and guide implementation of an online baseline survey for capacity assessment of tsunami preparedness in the Indian Ocean region and report to ICG/IOTWMS XII.
- Review CARIBE EWS Tsunami Ready and draft IOTIC guidelines with a view to developing guidelines and an implementation plan for piloting a Tsunami Ready programme in the Indian Ocean.
- Identify communities in one or two countries for pilot implementation, based on outcome of capacity assessment survey and interest of the Member States
- Guide pilot implementation of a Tsunami Ready programme in the Indian Ocean
- Report back on the pilot Tsunami Ready Programme to the ICG/IOTWMS Steering Group for reporting to TOWS-XI with a view to developing harmonized consistent global guidelines



The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC-UNESCO), established in 1960 as a body with functional autonomy within UNESCO, is the only competent organization for marine science within the UN system. Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/IOTWMS) Member List including all Indian Ocean surrounding 28 countries: Australia, Bangladesh, British Indian Ocean Territory, Comoros, Djibouti, France - Reunion, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen



